Hello World!

As a child, I first discovered you through writing book reports and looking at the pictures in my dad’s National Geographic Magazine.

I discovered you through teaching World Literature to high school sophomores who weren’t ready to see the world. Hormones were more important.

Then, many years later I discovered you when I retired and reinvented myself.

Now, I’m hooked on travel because “if not now, when?”

Opportunities present themselves and being a risk taker, I’m open to discovery and adventure. I also want to have fun!

I travel because my mind is open.
I travel because it is educational.
I travel because I enjoy the research and planning process.
I travel because of the cultural experience and meeting new people.
I travel because it is a sensory experience.
I travel because I love new foods.
I travel because I’m healthy.
I travel because it is demanding and a challenge.

It takes me out of my comfort zone and defines who I am.
I become more sensitive, tolerant and spiritual.

I travel with Purpose & Meaning.

I write with purpose and meaning, sharing those connections that define us.

First stop, Bali. Come along!

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Musings, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hello World!

  1. Lynn Sarda says:

    What a crisp, clean site. Beautiful job, Lynne.
    Your thoughts are clear and sparkling.

  2. You are livin’ the life, Lynn. Love the blog!

    • Thank you Melissa. After 30 years of teaching and shoveling snow I’m back in the tropics where my bones are warm. Retirement is truly reinventing myself and making choices. I’m pushing 70 and running out of time.
      Blessings to you. Lynne

  3. Seeing the world is so amazing. I happy you’re getting a chance to share with us. Thank you!

    • Thank you Chris. I admire young people who have chosen to travel, explore and immerse themselves in other cultures before settling down. After years of raising family and teaching it is now my time to explore. I have enjoyed reading your inspirational writings. Best wishes to you.

  4. skycastles says:

    I really like this post and agree with many of the things you said. Last year I made the decision to quit my job and travel around the world on my own. I enjoy the solitude and independence of figuring things out for myself. I love meeting people along the way and learning about the cultures in the places I visit. I wish I could find a way to maintain this traveling, nomadic lifestyle, but I think in the end I’ll return home to a full-time job as I’ll need the money and am not old enough to retire yet. But, I know I’ll continue to love traveling and will seek it out at every opportunity. I wish you all the best. Happy travels.

    • Hello skycastles. I haven’t traveled solo but admire the many women who do so. I’m sure you have some travel stories of your own and I will visit your site. Best wishes to you as you continue to travel around the world. Thank you for your comment and taking the time to read about travelerlynne.

  5. It is so refreshing to see people who are so in touch with their inner wisdom. Glad to have met you 🙂 Looking forward to following you through your path 🙂

  6. Thank you for your comment . It is a joy to respond to new visitors and connect in similar ways. Your web name peacewisdomprosperity is something we can all relate to wherever life leads us. Am glad to have met you through Z. She is quite the motivator.

  7. Letizia says:

    What a fantastic first post, Lynne! I love all your many reasons for traveling. I remember reading my father’s National Geographic magazines as a child as well. Another reason to not have everything online perhaps- keeping some magazines and books around for children to stumble upon and discover the world through…

  8. Letzia. How gracious of you to actually check out my first blog. As I declutter the house, you are right about literature. Those are the best discoveries for family to come upon. I must leave some things behind.

Leave a Reply

