Mom Caught a Whopper

Beautiful, gorgeous day.

Blue skies, gentle breeze and mild temperatures.

Perfect day for boating and fishing.

WOW!!

On my second cast I catch a nice size sea trout,
with out tangling my line or losing my fish while reeling it in.

Within seconds, my husband whips out his phone and snaps a quick photo to document this momentous occasion (he’s the serious fisherman) and presto, sends it out to our family members with the caption:

 Mom caught a whopper!

The trick to this instantaneously momentous photo op was the task of holding on to this slimy fish long enough for the photo and then getting the fish into the live well without its wriggling loose, thus ending up overboard, where it really prefers to be.

Yes! This has happened before, even to serious fishermen.

Alas … the trout is finally secure in its live well and I continue fishing without as much as a nibble. Becoming bored, I try reading. Between the sun warming me to incubation and the boat gently rocking, I find myself dozing and dropping my book.

Now, it’s time to get my journal out and write…

I begin with a whopper of a tale about a whopper of a fish and then I hear a familiar call:

“Fish on!” my husband roars which means I better get the net and help haul his whopper in.

He beat me by inches.

 Pan Seared Trout

 Dip fillets in milk.
Roll in a mixture of two-thirds part Parmesan cheese
to one-third part corn meal.
Add salt and pepper or Everglades Seasoning.
Fry in canola oil. Turn once.
The Parmesan is a nice addition. It doesn’t allow the fish
to soak up much oil.

 Enjoy!!

Mom's-Whopper

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Musings, Recipes ~ Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mom Caught a Whopper

  1. Paula says:

    What fun!
    Will have to try the recipe..sounds delicious.

  2. Lynn Sarda says:

    yummy……a perfect way to fish…sit back, read a book, snooze, and then cook up your catch. Just lovely….and fun for us who have had exactly that same experience down here in these beautiful waters.

Leave a Reply

