~The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel ~

Marigolds, Flower Market, Kolkata

Marigolds, Flower Market, Kolkata  RonMayhewPhotography.com

As a travel writer, I have come to enjoy the liberties I can take with this genre, including doing what I am going to do, and that is, recommend a movie~ The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

I’m not sure if suggesting a movie set in a distant country (Jaipur, India) qualifies as travel writing, but here goes. My husband, who accompanied me to this film, was in Kolkota this past fall for two weeks as part of a photo/journalist workshop. Instantly, the film’s visual backdrop and realities of daily life in India… sights, sounds and even smells of the city enveloped him, bringing back memories. Although I had not accompanied him on that trip, I immediately wanted us both to pack our bags and run off for another adventure, together …while we still can.

Aside from the cultural and visual setting, this is one of those rare movies that, we who are aging…can relate to. Outsourcing old people? What a hoot! And besides, Judy Dench, Maggie Smith and a host of others will not let you down. I laughed and I cried and that’s a good sign for me. Yes, the movie deals with realistic topics that include mortality, change, loneliness, finances, etc. in a humorous, sentimental, not sappy, and often times in a predictable manner.  At least, it’s a movie just for us seniors.

I reflected on the film’s obvious truths:

~Life is a personal journey regardless of age.
~Change is inevitable, whether one seeks it or it’s forced on you.    
~We are never too old to learn something new.
~We are never too old to pass on what we have learned about life. Wisdom matters.
~Don’t put off the important things.
~Assume responsibility for your own decisions or indecision.
~When out of your comfort zone, embrace it and learn from it. Cope and thrive or you will remain miserable and make those around you miserable.
~Sometimes we create our own personal prisons and aren’t even aware of them.
~We are never too old to love…again.

The film is well scripted with numerous “one liners” that are worth noting. They sum up the experience of journeying to and living at the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

Evelyn:  Nothing here has worked out quite as I expected.
Muriel:   Most things don’t. But sometimes what happens instead is the good stuff.

Sonny:  Everything will be all right in the end. So if it is not all right, then it is not yet the end.

I plan to keep my cup half-full….to the end!!

About marigolds:

The Portuguese discovered them in Mexico and Central America, introducing them to Europe and India in the 16th century. The Calcutta (Kolkata) region of India is predominately the flower growing region. Marigolds are strung into garlands and primarily used in religious and daily ceremonies. Dignitaries and guests are presented with them.

For more great photography see Ron Mayhew Photography.

Flower Market, Kolkata, India

Flower Market, Kolkata, India www.RonMayhewPhotography.com

 

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Musings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ~The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel ~

  1. Gigi Galore says:

    I also loved this film! It crept into one of my posts a few months ago when it first came out here. It does make you want to rush to sample life in stark, romantic Indian poverty! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Gigi, you have made me laugh, once again. I remember your post mentioning the film and the conversation that ensued. The film is just now getting to our theaters..some old folks might not make it that long… while waiting….like not buying green bananas.

  3. restlessjo says:

    Hi Lynne. Nice to meet you. Enjoyed reading your piece, and yes, I guess it does qualify as travel writing. (all kinds of obscure stuff finds it’s way into mine) Quite a few friends (also “older”) have recommended this film to me. I’ll definitely get to it sometime.

  4. Thanks Jo for your comments and dropping by my site. Your writing and photos are inspiring. I look forward to reading more.
    Yes, do see the movie.

  5. vbholmes says:

    Very funny, feel-good movie with great actors, director, script and photography (loved the colors and images of Jaipur). Enjoyed your review and I agree: “do see the movie”.

Leave a Reply

