My 7 Super Shots

My thanks to Cathy at catbirdinoman who nominated me to participate in HostelBookers 7 Super Shots.

The challenge is to choose 7 of your own photos, one for each of the following categories:

  • A photo that…takes my breath away
  • A photo that…makes me laugh or smile
  • A photo that…makes me dream
  • A photo that…makes me think
  • A photo that…makes my mouth water
  • A photo that…tells a story
  • A photo that…I am most proud of (aka my worthy of National Geographic shot)

Now, those of you who really know me would be confused at this because I’m married to “the real photographer” (who is also participating in this challenge). This indeed was a test for me and a good one…forcing me to view my own travel photos and think about them in a more focused manner.

The one I chose that takes my breath away was taken in Bali on a clear day. It was overlooking the rice fields at Jatiluwih in the central mountains. Jatiluwih translates as “truly marvelous” and I couldn’t agree more. The emerald greens and lushness of this valley indeed showcased these centuries old rice fields. Thank goodness we didn’t have a driver who pushed us to keep on a serious schedule. He “enjoyed our joy” at the beauty of his country, an area worthy of being nominated as a Unesco site.

 

This photo makes me smile, laugh, chuckle…all those words, which requires explanation.  In April, 2008, my husband and I were part of a mission team (NGO) working in Les Cayes, Haiti. Protesting the exorbitant cost of rice and cement, violence broke out that was serious enough to keep us sequestered for two extra days. We could not safely make it back to Port au Prince and had to charter a plane to get us out. Aboard the derelict, ancient Russian, diesel smelling airplane, Karen, a team member and nurse, deathly allergic to these fumes, pulled out her mask and put it on. It was the comic relief this whole group needed during a tense experience. Thanks Karen!

A photo that makes me dream was taken from an airplane going from Puerto Rico back to Miami. I couldn’t take my eyes off the blues and grabbed my camera. It was dream like and when we suddenly were over deep water, I knew the dream was over.

 

Any time I am in a place of worship, be it church, temple, monastery,  I am quiet and reflective. This photo of the Buddha was taken at a seldom visited site along the Mekong River in Luang Prubang, Laos. Yes, it makes me think Being  afternoon, the monks were resting. It was peaceful and hush-hush quiet as I walked around the tiny garden, praying and giving thanks for my blessings. I reflected on how religions of the world are unique and different, but how similar we are. It made me think of how much I don’t know.

This does make my mouth water. After long days touring Ankor Wat and surrounding temples we wanted to indulge in amoc, the national dish of Cambodia. We settled on a sampler of chicken, shrimp, beef, pork, and fish each with curry sauce. Delicious and exotically presented.  We dined at the Amok Restaurant located in The Passageway at The Market.

 

This photo tells a story and related to the one posted under laugh. Again, this is Haiti, a week before the riots broke out. My husband, Ron is a magnet for kids. They love him and his camera. We never did learn the name of the little boy in a sea of yellow check and girly ribbons, so we just refer to him as “hat boy”. We had been working on the construction of a clinic located next to the school where we donated supplies. Many of these children recognized us from the previous year working on the same clinic and welcomed us with open arms. Since there were three Ron’s in our small group, my husband was called Camera Ron.

 

I am most proud of this photo. It was quite late in the afternoon when we stopped at Pura Ulun Danu Bratan (Lake Bratan Temple). It has become one of the iconic images of Bali. Depending on the tide and from certain angles, it gives the illusion that it is actually floating on the water. Lovely way to end the day.

I’m to nominate 5 other bloggers to come up with their 7 Super Shots.  Here’s who I nominate:

http://dwharlow.wordpress.com/

http://bitoflight.wordpress.com/

http://rigmover.com/

http://spiritualworldtraveler.wordpress.com/

http://hearingwiththeeye.wordpress.com/

I look forward to seeing their 7 Super Shots.

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Bali, Bucket List, Haiti, Laos, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to My 7 Super Shots

  1. Wow Lynne! An amazing set of photos for 7 Super Shots! Great job! I love your National Geographic-worthy photo and your take-your-breath-away photos of Bali the best; but I love the mouth-watering Cambodian fish dinner too. I love Cambodian and Vietnamese food better than any other country’s food! I had that same dish several times in Cambodia… 🙂

  2. Thanks, Cathy. Glad you like the photos. I couldn’t agree with you more about the food.I could live off of it. Do have a safe trip back to the states and enjoy your family and time off. I hope your students and you survived the finals.

  3. Great post! I don’t know if you get into the awards on wordpress or not, but I nominated your blog for an award– More info can be found here: http://hearingwiththeeye.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/one-lovely-blog-award-nomination/. Enjoy the day & keep up the great work!

    • Thanks you, Sumithra for the nomination. How thoughtful of you.
      Please notice that I nominated you for participating in the 7 Super Shots challenge.The details are in theabove opening paragraph under Hostel Bookers 7 super shots. Hope you participate.

  4. Lynn Sarda says:

    These are quite wonderful, Lynne. Sooooo….there is another picture taker in the family. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Wow, very inspiring pictures, Lynne – my favourites are the air view from Puerto Rico to Miami and, of course, the yummy food! How wonderful to be travelling and volunteering in such amazing places 🙂

  6. Gigi Galore says:

    Absolutely beautiful Lynne. And each photo tells a story about you. And Ron! Absolutely gorgeous! I love this post! 🙂

  7. Thanks, Gigi. It wasn’t easy for me to pull together, but glad you like it.

  8. boomiebol says:

    Amazing and all so inspiring shots. Thanks for sharing

  9. teodesson says:

    Ulun Danu is really iconic. I never able to get them since everytime I try to go there is always raining

  10. Madhu says:

    Fabulous shots all! Thought the first one was from Kerala for some reason. The Ulun Danu is truly spectacular! And shall remember to stop by at Amok during our visit in December 🙂

  11. Thanks for your comments for someone who isn’t a photographer. Haven’t been to Kerala yet, but plan to go. Amok is well worth the visit. Enjoy. 🙂

  12. Gilly Gee says:

    Just stunning Lynne, hasn’t the super shots been the most amazing challenge? 🙂

  13. restlessjo says:

    Love that last shot, Lynne, and the water too. I did this challenge a while ago but it’s still nice to see it going the rounds. http://restlessjo.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/seven-super-shots/

  14. Thanks, Jo. I remember your participation in the challenge and thinking what a great way to tell one’s story through photos. Bali just can’t help itself…a photographers paradise.

  15. Dianne says:

    Great photos!! Love to read the stories about the photo – Just adds so much more.

  16. Thanks Dianne. I agree.

  17. adinparadise says:

    Stunning Super Shots, Lynne. You are rightly proud of that last one. It’s stunning. i love the one of your husband with those kids. Well done to you both for the good work you do.

  18. Thanks adinparadise. I appreciate your kind comments.

  19. davidatqcm says:

    never a truer word spoken, a picture is worth a thousand words!

  20. Thanks, David. The photos do tell the story.

  21. Lynne, you have awesome pictures. Join our game and show us more of your cool pictures. http://blog.booked.net/2012/08/14/join-our-blogger-promotion-capture-the-seasons/

  22. What beautiful images – Bali is a dream place!

  23. Loca Gringa says:

    This is a fabulous idea for a foto essay! Well done…

Leave a Reply

