The Missing Pants Update

First, let me thank the many thoughtful bloggers who are inquiring as to “where is traveler Lynne” and “what has happened to the missing pants?”

Ron and I are deeply touched by the heartfelt sentiments that continue to pop up. Your support, well wishes and sharing similar stories have been an inspiration to us as well as a reminder that so many people are experiencing tough family situations. Not just us. Our country has just witnessed another senseless tragedy and I can only imagine what the community of Newtown, Ct. is going through at this time. Every emotion, indeed. Our prayers are with these families. Nothing will be the same for them.

We are now at day 84 of visiting Mom at rehab. We have watched a caring, loving and professional staff get her to where she needs to be…getting up by herself and walking with a walker. She is pleased with that accomplishment and can almost dress herself, but needs assistance with bathing, etc. Knowing this, we have been touring Assisted Living Facilities and looking into this option.

Just when we are getting so close to a discharge date and relocation…Mom has become very sick…again, a major setback.

We are sad for her and for us. Ron and I are only children so there are no other “helpers”.

But I will tell you what a joy her 90th birthday party was. Thrilled to see so many friends attend, she was especially happy to see her two grandchildren who flew in for the special occasion. They are a blessing to us and were such a help. They also got a short preview of geriatric care and the responsibilities it involves.

As for the missing pants… well, Marilyn Warner (Things I Want To Tell My Mother) http://warnerwriting.wordpress.com warned me that if the pants ever show up, I probably wouldn’t want them.

She is right. Into the trash they went.

I know I need to get back to writing. There are so many travel stories to share. I just don’t know when that will be.

I have awards to accept and pass on, but that, too, will have to wait.

Thank you for your understanding, encouragement and support. May each of you experience…Love, Light & Laughter in the days ahead.

 Ron & Lynne

 http://ronmayhewphotography.wordpress.com/

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to The Missing Pants Update

  1. It is so great to have a field report, and I laughed about the missing pants!
    Suffice to say that you’re loved and missed, though your mother trumps your wordpress reading and writing for now.
    we’ll be here and look forward to seeing your smiling gravatar!

    • Thanks, Lisa. It looks like 2012 has ended sadly for us with the passing away of Ron’s mother. (Dec. 22nd). She is and will be terribly missed. we are looking forward to a peaceful, active and healthy 2013. Hope all is well with you.

      • thank you for sharing that. lo siento. it’s hard – no matter if they are well one day and gone the next or if they go through a slow process of decline. she picked a great day to move on, one of hope or rebirth as the sun slowly begins its journey back in my direction!

        may all of you have a peaceful end to this year.

  2. Margie Michener says:

    Oh, Lynne! We’re so very sorry to hear of your mother-in-law’s setback! How very disapointing!
    Please be assured of our love and prayers – both for her, and for you! With much love,
    Clyde & Margie

  3. We miss you and are thinking of you! Thanks for the update on the missing pants. Sending many healthy thoughts for your mother-in-law.

  4. adinparadise says:

    I’m so glad she was able to really enjoy her 90th birthday with her family. It must have meant such a lot to all of you too. I’m so sorry to hear of her setback, and hope she soon improves enough to be discharged. Hugs to you and Mom, Lynne. x

  5. eof737 says:

    TY for sharing your love and light with us… Belated birthday greetings to your mom and please keep us posted on your sojourn. 🙂

  6. eof737 says:

    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Belated Birthday Blessings to your Mom! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

  7. Thank you so much for the update Lyne! The silence after after the tragi-comic Missing Pants story just made me realise that things were very difficult for you. Your photos/travel blogs are such a lot of fun and I so enjoy them and appreciate you comments on my offerings. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this time. God bless you and I trust your mom comes through this sickness quickly.

    • 2012 has ended sadly for us as Ron’s mother did not pull through. Mom’s are precious and she was a dear and is and will be missed. Thank you for all your support and we all look forward to an active and healthy year ahead.

  8. I guess this is a reminder that ‘real’ life comes first. We will await your travel stories, and wish your Mum healing. Thoughts with you…

  9. Jeanette says:

    I am truly sorry to learn of your mother-in-law’s setback. I know just how challenging the holidays can be when someone so close to us is very ill, especially because it’s tough to plan. Please know you are both in all of our hearts and prayers. We are sending many rays of African sunshine to brighten your holidays.

    • Thanks you Jeanette. We thought Mom was going to like this, but it was not to happen. We sorely miss her and I know time is what we need. Thank you for your African words of comfort.

  10. Gigi Galore says:

    Thankyou for sharing some more with us! You are well missed! may your christmas wishes come true and all your prayers be answered1 Love to you both – and Mom! 🙂

    • Thanks, Gigi. It has been a sad time for us as Mom did not pull through as expected. We are thankful we had her these 90 years. Love to you too and may we all have a healthy and active year ahead.

      • Gigi Galore says:

        Oh …! My condolences to you both! In the mix of loss and sadness,I hope that you are able to celebrate your Mom’s 90 years and make her smile up there in the stars! 🙂 xo

  11. restlessjo says:

    You have to have priorities. God bless you and your Mum. Hope Christmas is kind and good luck in the New Year.

    • Yes, Mom was the priority. They are precious to us, but sadly Mom did not make it to celebrate Christmas with us.We are thankful we had her these 90 years and I have known her 50 of those years, so you could say she was my mom. Thanks for you support.

  12. letizia says:

    I’m sorry to hear that she’s not feeling well but she’s so lucky to be surrounded by such caring, loving family. We helped my grandmother move into an assisted living facility a few years ago and I was worried that she wouldn’t like it but she said that it was, in fact, a relief not to worry about having to take care of all the little everyday things anymore (even if she had a nurse helping her with things at home).

    Don’t forget to take care of yourself too! I know that my mother forgets to do this sometimes after taking care of her mother so I have little ‘pamper my mother” days 🙂

    Best wishes to you, Ron and Mom – your posts have really been hitting home… I’m sure I’m not the only one…

  13. Tahira says:

    I am sorry to hear about moms set back, Lynne. I send you, Ron, and her ALL my positive thoughts & well wishes. I am very happy to hear she was able to enjoy her 90th though – So wonderful. You are missed here but wordpress is not going anywhere & we will be here waiting for you. And yes, don’t forget to take care of yourself as well. All the best.

  14. Lynne, sending you warm wishes this holiday season, and here’s hoping that Mom will be feeling better shortly. Until then, take care of yourself!

  15. So much catching up to do – I can’t believe it’s been so long since I came to ‘see you’. I was saddened to hear that Ron’s Mother didn’t recover from the setback.. What a ghastly Christmas for you all … Thank goodness you all had the opportunity to be together for her birthday. My best wishes to you both.

  16. Thank you Meredith for your kind words. It was a tough Christmas and the weeks following. Our grown children are indeed so thankful they came for her birthday.In April, friends and family will gather to have a Celebration of Life for her in her own home where her artistic spirit resides. She was happiest when surrounded by chalk dust from pastels, pushing watercolor around, and making murals with acrylic. I think it wonderful that you took up metalsmithing (did I say that right). I hope you do a post about the process and your creations.

Leave a Reply

