Look Who Just Flew In ~ Paris Streets

Man and MachineSurprise! Surprise! Surprise!

One never knows who or what waits around the next corner or what will catch your fancy while walking down the street.

We were quite accustomed to the many street performers in the town squares or along the Seine. But this was unique.

The first time we noticed him, he was in the Marais,Β  two blocks from our hotel. The next time was in Le Halle’s and then again in the Latin Quarter at night, his carriage all lit up. Didn’t get a picture of that one. His horn has an unforgettable sound, and you know it is he before you see him.

See what one can do to a three wheeled bicycle? Must visit the scrap yard, soon. I may be on to something.

Have a great week.

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Musings, Paris, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Look Who Just Flew In ~ Paris Streets

  1. shalla31 says:

    Oh! We saw him outside notre dam

  2. My, he does get around. Thanks for your visit and response. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my! Now that is really eccentric. What a wonderful contraption, and I love the colourful trousers too. πŸ™‚

  4. You hit on it, Sylvia. He wins the Most Eccentric and the Fancy Pants Award. No one else comes close. πŸ™‚

  5. restlessjo says:

    Super, Lynne! It’s so nice to see something other than the statues. I’m beginning to find them a bit of a bore. Here’s to originality and a bit of flare. Well- a lot of flare, looking at those pants! πŸ™‚

  6. Oh yes, much flair here. I would love to know this guy’s story. πŸ™‚

  7. margie michener says:

    I love it, Lynne!! Now I know what to do with my trike! Ha!! Love, Margie P.S. For some reason, when I went to “comment” on your website it keeps telling me I need to put in a valid e-mail address………? Hence, my response via e-mail. Date: Mon, 13 Oct 2014 15:53:43 +0000 To: margiemichener@hotmail.com

  8. vbholmes says:

    What fun! Be sure to let us all know when you take your first spin on your junkyard replica.

  9. What a wonderful ‘Heath Robinson ‘ contraption and the rider? driver? is as marvelous as his mode of transport. Thank you for sharing!

    • Elaine, what interesting information. I immediately looked up Heath Robinson and now get the connection. I had no idea he was a UK cartoonist during WWI who imagined all kinds of contraptions and drew them. Then I discovered Rube Goldberg, an American who did the same. Thank YOU for sharing.

      • Haven’t looked at my blog etc for ages! And YOU prompted me to look up Rube Goldberg on Wikipedia! And below the article I was fascinated to see that, world-wide there are creative, imaginative people with a sense of fun, who share their wonderful ideas with everyone. Lovely. Life is too short to be ordinary!

  10. What a fun shot! It’s what I love about street photography – you just never know what you will come upon.

  11. Kan says:

    Haha! You sure he wasn’t following you? πŸ™‚

  12. He looks like he’s straight out of Willy Wonka land. What an attention grabber. Hee hee. This made me laugh. I am so far behind in reading my favorite blogs. This is definitely a keeper.

  13. Madhu says:

    How cool!! He wasn’t around when we went last year. Did you hitch a ride ? πŸ™‚

  14. Sorry you missed him, Madhu, but I’m sure he was just around the corner from you. πŸ™‚

  15. Hehe πŸ™‚ Looks like he’s straight out of a Terry Pratchett novel!

  16. Letizia says:

    What a sight! I love his leather helmet and googles!

  17. I do too, Letizia. That completed the outfit for sure. πŸ™‚

  18. What a fun picture, Lynne! The leather helmet and goggles are a great touch, but the entire contraption is a hoot. I love it.

  19. Thanks, Marilyn. He was a comical sight to see and was so unfazed by anything or anyone around him. He was in his own little world.

  20. Gigi Galore says:

    I love this! I especially love the wee baby in the pram beside him, a sort of smaller version of his wheels! It’s obviously the way to move in Paris! I wrote this comment ages ago – but can see it never made it. All these apps, it’s kind of luck if they work! 😊 πŸ‡·πŸ‡ΊπŸš²πŸ—Ό

  21. I was wondering if anyone would notice the pram. Bicycles are popular, but walking seems to be the norm. I would have lost some weight with all the walking we did, but, the croissants did me in. πŸ™‚ Love those apps.

  22. Tahira says:

    I want to be him for a day… or two! Oh Paris, how you never disappoint πŸ™‚

  23. You are right about that, Tahira. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

