Up Periscope

Manatee

“Fresh water. This is so great and all to myself.”

Manatee

“Hey! Where did you come from?”

Manatee

“I guess we can share. There’s more than one stream.”

Manatee

“Treading water gets awful tiresome.”

Manatee

“Aah! That’s better. This is the life. Florida living at its best. Nothing like floating on my back, no cares in the world, and getting a cool refreshing drink of water at the same time. Now if I could just get someone to rub my belly.”

Manatee

“The world’s finest wilderness lies beneath the waves …”
— Wyland, Marine Life Artist

More about manatees can be found in the following post:

https://onthegowithlynne.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/living-with-the-manatees/

***After boating and fishing, there is the routine of flushing the motor with fresh water, cleaning the boat and hopefully cleaning some fish. The manatees will congregate under the streams of fresh water and take long drinks, jostling for position.  They are fun to watch.

About travelerlynne

Traveler. Writer. Retired Educator.Traveling on and off the beaten path with my photographer husband. Volunteering locally as well as in Haiti and Tanzania, an enriching and humbling experience. A sun lover! Shelling, boating, fishing and watching sunsets. Growing mango, banana, key lime,and pineapple.Making smoothies and chutneys. Enjoying family and friends! Savoring each new day!
This entry was posted in Musings, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Up Periscope

  1. lynnsarda says:

    What fun living here is.

  2. Isn’t that the truth, Lynn. Everyday is special, and if we take the time, enjoy its wonders. 🙂

  3. Penelope Higgins says:

    Great shots! Thanks, Lynne.

  4. cindy knoke says:

    Oh my gosh! I have never seen a manatee! I am afraid because they are so gentle and sweet, that we may kill them all. You photos cheered my heart~

    • They have made an incredible comeback, Cindy. Because they are slow moving, they are vulnerable to boats running over them and leaving deep scars on their backs.There are boating regulations which help a lot. They are gentle, but I wouldn’t want to get whopped by a tail. Glad this cheered your heart. 🙂

  5. Nin S. says:

    And more picture of Namatees… thank you for sharing…

  6. Fabulous captures, Lynne. I’ve seen Manatee signs posted along the waterways, but haven’t been lucky enough to spot any of these gentle creatures. Your narrative made me smile. I’d love to give him a belly rub. 🙂

    • We have never seen them roll over like that, Sylvia, but it was hilarious to watch. They are curious creatures and spend a lot of time in our canals, a safe place to mate and to give birth. 🙂

  7. Alice says:

    I love these pictures! have the manatees moved on to the gulf for the summer yet?

    • We had manatees in our canal a few days ago. I don’t know their whereabouts, now. Many manatee are in the San Carlos Bay close to where we live and I’m sure there are manatees in the Gulf. Thanks for your comment, Alice.

  8. i loved the post and the images! wow, you’re so lucky to have these gentle creatures as your neighbors! i’d be swimming with them, if that’s safe and allowable…

    • Not allowable or really safe, but their are some state parks that have special areas for swimming with the manatees. You don’t want to get bumped or whopped by a tail. They have come up to us at the beach and we have touched them. Quite an experience. 🙂

  9. Zambian Lady says:

    LG – Life is Good for that manatee.

  10. It can be good and bad. They do get their backs cut from boat motors which leaves ugly scars. Thanks for you comment. 🙂

  11. Oh how cute! Yesterday I read a Dora the Explorer story to the first grade students…in Spanish!!! It was all about manatees. Now, I’ll have to share your post and your pictures with them.

    • What fun to be reading to the kids in Spanish and how timely this post is. We always enjoy them when they are around, which is usually for several days at a time. 🐬

  12. Letizia says:

    You’re so lucky to be living next to these beautiful animals. I heard them called the teddy bears of the sea and I can see why from your photos.

  13. restlessjo says:

    Delightful images and words, Lynne 🙂 I wanted to roll over and get my belly tickled!

    • I was so close to him while on the dock taking pictures and if he was a little closer, I might have tried. They were back again yesterday, but we didn’t have the hose on. 😀

  14. Madhu says:

    Absolutely delightful post Lynne! 🙂 They seem so gentle and playful. Have never seen one either.

  15. We seem to be having more than our share this winter, Madhu, and I’m delighted. Such clowns without even trying. 😎

  16. vbholmes says:

    Wonderful pictures, Lynne–not only heartwarming, but educational for those of us who don’t get South to enjoy the real thing.

  17. I find myself looking everyday to see if they’re around, VB. Am glad I can share our South Florida wildlife with our northern friends. 🙂

  18. Gigi says:

    Hehehe! So cute!!! 😊

  19. Fun shots Lynn! We have them in our canal too, but have never been able to capture them in photographs as you have.

  20. We seem to have a group hanging around our canal frequently this spring. Trying to get good pictures is a challenge. 😎

  21. Lynne, your pictures are stunning! My granddaughter has a poster of a manatees in her bedroom–she’s a big fan and did a 5th grade project on manatees–so I’ve sent her this link.
    Excellent post.

    • Thanks, Maryllin. I’m sure your granddaughter will get a kick out of these pictures. On one visit from my grandchildren, we were going to take them to an area where they congregate ( waters of an hydroelectric plant in Ft Myers). Didn’t need to because we had so many spending the day in our canal. An educational and fun experience.😊

  22. These photos are fabulous Lynne. In our FL years we had quite a few chances to see manatees and we loved it, but I had no idea they’d pull these kinds of stunts. The one floating on its back is a hoot. Great photos and post. ~James

  23. They really were clowns this day, James, and put on quite the show. All I had to do was stand on the dock and click away. Am glad it brought back FL memories. 😎

  24. This post makes me smile Lynne 🙂 I have been wanting to see manatees myself 🙂 Your narrative suit to the temperament of manatees, as gentle and fun animal 🙂

Leave a Reply

